SoftLayer Technologies (tm)
Divider Forums Divider Portal Divider SPacer Divider About Divider KnowledgeLayer Divider InnerLayer
 

We are a no-spam network

Posted by Jacob Linscott on June 27th, 2007 ( Share )

Something happened today that we feel everyone should be aware of: We currently have no SBL listings for our IP space and we were recognized by the Spamhaus Team as a proactive no-spam-tolerance network.

Our hard work here at keeping spammers off of the network, and our reaction when they do make it on has been recognized.

If you visit the Spamhaus ISP page, type in softlayer.com. You will find something that is very rare and something we are very proud of. To be recognized in this manner means a great deal to us.

Abuse is something that happens, there is no way around it. What does matter is how we are perceived to handle the situation, and working day in and day out with other abuse desks and networks does indeed pay off.

9 Responses to “We are a no-spam network”

  1. Jason Gulledge Says:

    If you’re wondering why the spamhaus site isn’t loading, it’s likely they’re currently being attacked (DoS) by spammers. I hear this is frequently the case.

  2. Ian Lee Says:

    For all resellers and web hosting companies using SL as your datacenter, this should be part of your benefits list on your marketing collateral!

    As for spamhaus not working, after the first click of “I agree”, you get an error message. Just “Back” and try again. It will work after that :)

    Thanks for the link. Did some checking around and found many other datacenters with listed IP’s on that list! Nicely done SL.

  3. dialup_is_mine Says:

    Great work! It is cause to pround. But you should know that sometimes abuses make slight inconvenience to legal clients.

  4. micksam7 Says:

    Great job!

    Old hosts I’ve had been with have had many spam issues. I always loved having to answer help requests with bounced e-mail vertification mails.

    Now we only have to worry about people not being able to read the capcatchas!

  5. John Rogers Says:

    Hi

    According to the hostexploit.com document that was responsible for the effective closure of McColo… one of the ‘Toxic Network’ of ISP’s defined as being responsible for hosting spammers and scammers is Softlayer.

    Overview of current badness instances (bad data history 05/2006 – 10/2008):
    - Pharm & spam = 12,420
    - Rogues & Malware = 167
    - Infected / badware sites = 1,538 (from 276,480 IP addresses – exploit ratio 0.56%)

    My worry is that if McColo can be taken off the web by its connectivity providers, then so can Softlayer!

    What are you doing to take active measures against spammers and scammers?

  6. cfeagans Says:

    This is interesting. Because just today I’ve received a half-dozen or so spam messages in the comments section of my blog. The IP of each of them resolves to Softlayer Technologies. I’ve deleted all the comments as spam in my Wordpress dashboard, but I left this one to show others.

    The comment is always a similar combination of English letters variously represented in upper and lower case. Always just 13 or so characters long and always an email with a first name like Jessie, Alvin or Arthur at a gmail.com domain.

    Feel free to contact me at my blog or the email attached to this comment regarding this spam. I very curious as to why such a series of characters would be useful.

  7. Pat M Says:

    I just love your weblog! Very nice post! Still you can do many things to improve it.

  8. Pet Foreclosure Assistance Says:

    I am almost brand new to blogging and really like your post, it is really on target.

  9. Walter Says:

    I am tired of getting fake profiles from:

    75.126.17.10

    IP address [?]: 75.126.17.10 [Copy][Whois] [Reverse IP]
    IP country code: US
    IP address country: United States
    IP address state: Texas
    IP address city: Dallas
    IP postcode: 75207
    IP address latitude: 32.7825
    IP address longitude: -96.8207
    ISP of this IP [?]: SoftLayer Technologies
    Organization: INH Media
    Host of this IP: [?]: muckmakers.com [Whois] [Trace]
    Local time in United States: 2009-11-05 21:37

Home | Dedicated | Cloud | Solutions | Services | Facilities | Reseller | Resources | News | About | Specials | Contact | Legal
©2008 SoftLayer Technologies, Inc.
Close
E-mail It
Socialized through Gregarious 42